Council of Governors

The Role of Governors

Governors represent the interests of Trust members (which includes all staff and interested members of the public) and hold the Non-Executive Directors to account for the performance of the Board of Directors. Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust is committed to having a diverse Council of Governors that is representative of the communities we serve.

Governors will play a pivotal role in encouraging service users and carers to become more involved in activities of the Trust, as well as in sharing information about the way the Trust is developing and in the delivery of high quality and safe patient care.

The Council of Governors

We will have 29 governors on our Council of Governors:

  • 15 elected public governors;
  • 6 elected staff governors; and
  • 8 appointed governors who represent partner organisations.

  • There are three formal meetings of the Council of Governors each year.

    Elected governors normally hold office for a period of three years commencing immediately after the annual members meeting at which their election is announced and are eligible for re-election at the end of that period. Governors are allowed to serve a maximum of nine consecutive years - i.e. three consecutive terms.

    Election Results

    Results of the election held in 2021:

    Elected Governors – Public



    Cheshire West & Chester

    Patricia Higgins & Sonia Holdsworth


    Keith Lewis, Jackie McCreanney & John Roberts


    Anne Marie Olsson

    St Helens & Knowsley

    Stephen Sanderson & Patricia Gillis


    Jane Wilkinson

    Warrington & Halton

    Glenys Crisp

    Wirral and rest of England

    Jonathan Heseltine, Andrew Waller & John Field

    Elected Governors – Staff




    Currently vacant

    Non Clinical

    Deborah Spearing


    Laura Brown

    Other Clinical

    Myfanwy Borland


    Sam Wilde

    Volunteers, service providers, contracted staff

    Carol Nelson

    Nominated Governors – Organisations



    Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

    Currently vacant

    NHS England – Cheshire and Merseyside Sub Regional Team

    Andrew Bibby

    Local council – Wirral MBC

    Yvonne Nolan

    Cancer Alliance

    Ray Murphy

    Macmillan Cancer Support

    Currently vacant

    MCH Psychological Services

    Andrea Chambers

    University of Liverpool

    Andrew Pettitt

    Liverpool CouncilCurrently vacant

    Click here to find out more about our governors

    Useful Documents